Drop 003

Top of the morning! *Kendrick Lamar voice* Welcome to Drop 003 of the 1AND1 newsletter, your weekly dose of 1% Better. Here's what we've got for you this week ⬇️

  • Tips to improve focus and energy in the morning

  • Recommendations for easy and effective exercises that can be done at home or in the gym without equipment

  • How to save money without noticing

  • How to love yourself while in a relationship

  • An inspiring personal story of a new mom's struggles with postpartum depression

  • Self discovery and self care product picks

  • Some REALLY good news

  • And much more...

Let's get into it!

1 Dose For Your Mind

Are you struggling to find focus and energy in the morning? Kickstart your day with these simple tips to make the most of your mornings and start off on the right foot:

Don't look at your phone immediately: Instead of getting caught up in messages, apps, and emails, wait a few moments to start your morning off with peace.

Take a cold shower: Not only does a cold shower decrease stress and ease anxiety, it also increases circulation, improves mood, and wakes up the body.

Grab some H20 as soon as you wake up: A refreshing glass of water first thing in the morning hydrates you, stimulates your metabolism, and gives you energy.

Identify your OBT: "OBT" stands for "One Big Thing." Plan your day by identifying the one task that if accomplished, would make your day a success. Make sure to prioritize your OBT and even if you don't get much else done, your day will be a success.

Move your body: Get some sunlight on a 10-15 minute walk, stretch, or do something that wakes up your body and energizes your mind to help you focus more.

πŸ’Š How To Take Your Dose:

Try keeping your phone on snooze for at least 20 minutes in the morning for a week. Instead of looking at your phone, replace that time with meditating, stretching, or taking a cold shower. Not only will you start your day with a burst of energy, but you'll also be surprised at how much more focused you are when you begin your day.

1 Dose For Your Body

Looking for some quick ways to boost your energy and focus? We recommend moving your body! Here are some easy and effective exercises you can do from the comfort of your own home, or in the gym, no workout equipment required:

Bodyweight Squats: This exercise works your legs, glutes, and core. Use your bodyweight or add some extra resistance with household items like water bottles or cans of soup.

Bodyweight Lunges: This move targets your upper legs and glutes. Take a big step forward and lower your body towards the ground, keeping your front knee over your ankle.

Push-ups: A classic exercise that works your chest, shoulders, triceps, and core. Start with as many as you can and gradually increase the amount over time.

Sit-ups or planks: Both exercises target your core and abs, so pick your favorite or alternate between the two.

Jumping jacks: Get your heart rate up and work your whole body with this cardio exercise.

πŸ’Š How To Take Your Dose:

Incorporate movement into your daily routine by choosing one or two of the exercises listed above and commit to doing them at least three times a week. Start with a manageable number of reps and gradually increase as you become stronger. Mix it up by trying new exercises, and remember to listen to your body and do what feels good to you. Track your progress and see how your body and mind benefits from regular movement.

If you're looking for more exercises you can do, see our article on Effective Home Workouts to Replace Gym Memberships.

1 Dose For Your Wallet

Want to save money without even noticing? Here are a few tips you can try:

Start a change jar: Keep a mason jar or container handy and when you have extra coins or dollars that you're not using, put them in the jar and watch your savings grow. A penny saved is a penny earned after all!

Save your spare change: Next time you're out and about and get change back, instead of keeping it loose in your pocket, put it in the jar. It may not seem like much, but it can add up quickly.

Set a savings goal: Decide how much you want to save in a month, and put that money aside. You'll be surprised at how quickly you reach your goal.

Save a percentage of your income: Instead of saving a set amount, save a percentage of your income. For example, if you earn $1000 a month, you can save $100 or 10% of your income.

πŸ’Š How To Take Your Dose: 

Try starting a change jar and save all your spare change for a month. At the end of the month, count how much you've saved and set a new savings goal for the next month.

1 Dose For Your Relationships

Relationships can be amazing, but it's important to not lose yourself in the process. Here's how to love yourself while in a relationship:

Carve out some "you" time: Make sure to set aside time each week for activities you enjoy, even if your partner also enjoys them. This will help you maintain your own identity and give you space to unwind and decompress.

Maintain your own hobbies: Don't let your partner convince you to stop doing the things you love. Keeping your hobbies will help you stay connected to yourself and your identity.

Spend time with other friends: It's important to have a social life outside of your relationship. Spending time with friends will help you maintain a sense of independence and prevent your relationship from becoming all-consuming.

Be honest with yourself and your partner: If you're feeling overwhelmed or like you're losing yourself in your relationship, it's important to be honest about it. Communicate openly and honestly with your partner and work together to find a balance that works for both of you.

πŸ’Š How To Take Your Dose:

Take some time this week to schedule some "you" time and make sure to stick to it. Reflect on your hobbies and make a plan to continue doing them. Plan a hangout with friends and make sure to make it a regular thing. And talk openly with your partner about how you both can maintain a healthy balance in your relationship.

For more, check out our article on How To Love Yourself While In a Relationship.

Real Stories From Real People

Uncovering the Realities of Motherhood: A New Mom's Struggle with Postpartum Depression

"I had always been an athlete, and still like to consider myself one to this day. But when the new year rolled around, I found myself facing a new challenge: becoming a mother. They say "enjoy your pregnancy because you can forget about the long nights of sleep once he gets here," but I never fully understood the weight of those words until I became a mother myself.

Becoming a mom was the most beautiful, but also the hardest and most exhausting thing I've ever done. My identity changed, my schedule changed, my priorities, my body, my interests, my hobbies, my relationships, and so much more. I had only heard horror stories about "Post-partum depression" (PPD), but I figured I was healthy enough and mentally strong enough to avoid that. I was wrong.

You have a brand-new baby, a healthy, beautiful little creature that you get to keep alive. Your baby needs you minute in and minute out to survive. What, more than this, could give you purpose? I, personally, could not truly feel that way. I was unexplainably overwhelmed and was experiencing bouts of sadness that I could not explain. My mom came to stay with us all the way from Italy to help, my husband had been the most supportive and wonderful partner... I still felt like I was in a dark tunnel, unable to see the light.

My entire life, I have been an athlete. I have competed at a high level, and never really stopped training (seriously, the most extended break I took from the gym has maybe been 1 weeklong over the past 15 years). When my baby came, I had to let my body heal, and when I restarted training, I was feeling weak and just not recognizing my body anymore. I was more frustrated with what my body could not do instead of putting energy into celebrating all that my body actually did for me and for our baby.

I could breastfeed, which made me feel really empowered, although my baby was not tolerating my milk well. No matter how I changed my diet or how careful I was, he was spitting up all day long. It broke my heart. On top of that (and if you asked my husband, he’d have all the stories to tell you), I had to pump. I was pumping 5-6 times a day – which is normal, but it had become a full-time job, and it became stressful as my supply seemed to be going in and out around the 4th month.

This isn't the story that you would expect to hear from a new mom. Don’t get me wrong, I am in love with my baby, it has not been all dark. But these are the stories you won’t hear often. These are real stories of real moms. I am grateful I had a couple of very supportive mom friends checking in on me constantly, giving me advice and support that helped me so much. But I will be honest, when I first started feeling gloomy feelings, I thought there was something very wrong with me; I felt guilty for not being as happy as the world expected me to be.

But I want other moms to know that they are not alone, and it does get better. Motherhood is the most amazing thing that could've happened to me, and I would not change it for the world. But it's important that we share these stories and offer more support for moms who are struggling. We need to remember that every mother's journey is unique and valid, and that it's okay to not be okay."

Silvia Reese - Lead Nutritionist at 1AND1

***If you'd like to be featured in our Real Stories From Real People section, fill out this form. You could end up in one of our weekly drops and inspire thousands of readers with your story!

Good News Only

  1. Gordon Hartman, a businessman, and father in Texas, sold his business and spent $34M to build an accessible amusement park for disabled children like his daughter 🎒

  2. A Maryland TikToker raised $145K to help an 82-year-old navy vet retire from Walmart 🀝

  3. An 11-year-old boy with terminal cancer, Devarjaye "DJ" Daniel (TX), has been sworn in as an honorary officer at 53 police departments and is now raising awareness for pediatric cancer πŸ’™

1AND1 Picks

This week, our experts have selected the following must-have items for self-discovery and self-care. Check out these top-rated books, an essential fiber supplement and a comfortable yoga mat that is perfect for at-home workouts.

Minaa's Minute πŸ’πŸΎβ€β™€οΈβ°

Discover the power of self-care and community care with Minaa B., 1AND1's Chief Behavioral Officer and licensed therapist, as she shares actionable tips in "Minaa's Minute" each week β€” check it out below!

Having an intentional morning can boost your mood and set the tone for how your day unfolds. For this week, spend one minute doing a self-care exercise like breathwork, meditation, or positive affirmations while starting your day.

Minaa B.

This Week On The Podcast πŸŽ™

Last week for Season 2: Episode 38, Danny interviewed social media content creator, mental health nurse practitioner, and psychotherapist, Dr. Kojo Sarfo, DNP, PMHNP-BC, to talk about his journey with ADHD and how it has influenced his career path, while also sharing why it's important to make the topic of mental health more fun and accessible through social media.

Listen on Spotify | Listen on Apple Podcasts *New episodes drop every Wednesday*

Join the 220+ 5-Star reviews on Apple Podcasts and leave a review.

That's it for Drop 003. Please rate our newsletter below and send us some thoughts on how we can be 1% better, too! Remember β€” 1 Step At A Time, 1 Day At A Time, 1% Better, Together. β˜οΈπŸ‘†

Was this email forwarded to you? If so, sign up for free here. 

Share 1AND1 With Friends πŸ₯³

Wellness is better together. Copy and paste this link to share this newsletter with a friend that would enjoy it. (We know you're probably the friend that's known for recommending the good stuff if you're reading this already. πŸ˜‰) Shareable Link: https://1and1.beehiiv.com.

Interested In Advertising on the 1AND1 Newsletter?

Fill out this survey, and we'll get back to you asap! FYI β€” we only like to partner with companies and services that will actually help our readers become 1% better. This is a no BS zone and we will handle accordingly. We take the health and wellness of our community very seriously.

What did you think of this week's Drop?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Looking For Urgent Help?

Here's a list of free resources:

Reply

or to participate.