Drop 007

Welcome to Drop 007 of the 1AND1 newsletter, your weekly dose of 1% Better. Okay so...🚨 We Have An Announcement 🚨We took your feedback to heart, and will be breaking up the once a week Drops into two separate newsletters: One on Monday (Still will be referred to as a "Drop" - featuring tips for mind, body, wallet and relationships plus our Real Stories from Real People) and one on Friday (Friday's edition will be called "Extra Sauce" - featuring Minaa's Minute, our Expert's product picks and the week's mental health podcast spotlight.)Cool? Cool. Let us know what you think of the change by ranking the newsletter and leaving us a comment. Here's what we've got for Drop 007! ⬇️

  • Tips to improve your discipline and focus while working

  • Recommendations on protein-packed, tasty snacks to consume throughout your day

  • How you can have fun while also saving money

  • How a love letter to your partner can make them feel special

Here we go!

1 Dose For Your Mind 🧠

Want to feel more diligent and focused with your work?

 The to-do list is ever-growing, but here are some tips to help you break up your workday, make progress and knock out those tasks:

  • Block off time on your calendar: Whether it’s for 30 minutes or an hour, make It visible on your calendar that you're blocking off time to complete a task. Proper time-blocking is a cheat code.

  • Set a timer: A simple, yet helpful hack for increasing productivity. Set a 15-30 minute window to work where you block out ALL distractions and focus!

  • Snooze some notifications: Turn your notifications off. This will help you to not get sidetracked, and you can easily check them once you're done with your focus window.

  • Close out unnecessary tabs: Determine which tabs are the most important. Next, get rid of every tab that you don't need.

  • Always ensure you take a break: Take a 10-15 minute break after every time block or intense working window to help reset your mind and align on what’s next for you to do. This is especially important for ADHD personality types.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

Be intentional about trying each of these tips this week, but start first with time-blocking. Once the week is over, ask yourself how each of these helped, or if one helped more than the other. Record your experience and begin to put into practice the ones that worked for you on a daily basis. For more tips on how to increase your focus at work, check out the article below ⬇️

1 Dose For Your Body 💪

When you’re on the go, getting enough protein in your diet can be hard.

Looking to stay fueled and energized throughout the day? Here are some high-protein snacks you can take on-the-go.

Jerky: If you're looking for a protein-packed snack, you can’t go wrong with beef jerky. Not only is it high in protein, but it's also easy to carry around. Just watch out for the store-bought versions that are high in added sugar.

Almonds: Almonds are an excellent source of protein, and they’re also high in healthy fats and vitamins. Just a handful of almonds can be enough to fill you up and give you the energy you need to power through your day.

Cheese slices: If you’re a cheese lover, you’ll be glad to know that one slice of cheddar cheese contains about 7 grams of protein. So go ahead and indulge in this snack.

Protein bars: When you’re on the go, protein bars can be a lifesaver. With as much as 21 grams of protein per bar, they’re an easy way to keep your energy levels up and stay on top of your fitness goals.

Greek Yogurt Parfait: Greek yogurt is an excellent source of protein, with as much as 20 grams of protein per cup. You can add granola to your yogurt for more protein and texture.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

Starting today, add one of these high-protein, healthy snacks to your daily diet. Choose a specific snack and keep track of how many grams of protein it contains. Set a goal to eat this snack at least three times a week. After two weeks, re-evaluate how you feel and any changes in energy levels, and adjust your protein intake accordingly. Keep experimenting with different snacks and track your progress towards achieving your protein goals.

1 Dose For Your Wallet 💵

Looking to have a great night out with your friends, but worried about overspending?

You don't have to break the bank to have a good time. Try these budget-friendly tips to help you have fun while keeping money in your pocket:

Split a rideshare: Save money on transportation by riding together and splitting the cost. Don't forget to download a rideshare app for more savings!

Consider your budget: Before going out, check out the menu and decide on how much you want to spend. This way, you can keep a budget in mind and avoid overspending.

Find free events: Check out local listings for free events or activities. There are plenty of options that won't cost you a dime!

Have a night in: If going out doesn't appeal to you, consider having a cozy night in with your friends. Everyone can bring a snack, drink, or mixer to share, which saves everyone money while still enjoying each other's company.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

Choose one of these tips to apply before your next night out with friends. Make sure to stick to your budget and take advantage of opportunities to save money, while still having a good time. Set a SMART goal for yourself, such as "I will save $20 on my next night out by splitting a rideshare with my friends and sticking to a $30 budget for food and drinks."

1 Dose For Your Relationships ❤️

Love Hack: Writing your partner a love letter can help strengthen your relationship.

Letting your loved ones know how much they mean to you can make a huge difference in your relationship. Don't be afraid to express yourself and make your partner feel seen, heard, and understood.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

This week, write a love letter to your friend or partner. Express your appreciation and gratitude for them. Leave the note in a place where they will find it unexpectedly, such as the fridge, in their car, or on their desk. Try this form of expression to see how it positively strengthens your relationship. Make it a goal to write at least one heartfelt letter to someone you love each month.

For more on how you create strong and healthy bonds, check out our article on how you can cultivate connections.

Real Stories From Real People

How the Power of "One More Day" Encouraged Jay to Keep Going

"It was a long road to finding myself. Filled with grief, depression, and bouts of suicidal thoughts. My story starts in San Francisco, California. I was born to a mother and father who despite their best efforts found it necessary to separate while I was a young child. I can vividly remember arguments, intense yelling, and anguish that would unknowingly shape who I was to become. For years I sought acceptance, love, and stability in every relationship I had. I learned to exist in ways that would never offend in order to keep peace and avoid confrontation. Love to me meant becoming whoever I needed to be to appease those I cared for.

After college, I married a beautiful woman. Eager to please, and afraid of reliving my traumatic childhood experiences, I put my efforts into becoming whoever I needed to be to “succeed.” Anybody but me. In my efforts to please, I had inadvertently told myself that I wasn’t good enough as is. To numb my self-loathing I started to neglect my health by choosing to indulge in alcohol and narcotics. I reached a low just before Christmas when I found myself facing my biggest fear. I had become my trauma. I was helpless, unable to contribute to my household, and lacking self-respect, and any semblance of integrity. It was at that point, in my ultimate darkness, that I considered ending my life.

I felt that I had become a burden to all of those I cared about and that they would all be better off without me. I researched the best methods to end my life. Finally, when the method was decided, I heard a subtle voice whisper “one more day.” Each day the voice would gently whisper the same words. Days turned into weeks, and suddenly an entire month went by and I found myself at a school teaching elementary-aged children. The more I taught, I was reminded of my own childhood innocence. As time went on I began to shed my need for outside validation. I discovered that I already possessed all the traits I was seeking.

The more I began to embrace my essence, the more empowered I felt to take responsibility for the life I wanted to create. I was able to find myself, through grace, love, and the power of one more day."

Jared Baisley, Chief Operations Officer for Music For Your Mental Health

***If you'd like to be featured in our Real Stories From Real People section, fill out this form. You could end up in one of our weekly drops and inspire thousands of readers with your story.

That's a wrap for Drop 007! We'll see you on Friday for some "Extra Sauce" 😏🍝 Remember 1 Step At A Time, 1 Day At A Time, 1% Better, Together. ☝️👆

Was this email forwarded to you? If so, sign up for free here. 

Share 1AND1 With Friends 🥳

Wellness is better together. Copy and paste this link to share this newsletter with a friend that would enjoy it. (We know you're probably the friend that's known for recommending the good stuff if you're reading this already. 😉) Shareable Link: https://1and1.beehiiv.com.

Interested In Advertising on the 1AND1 Newsletter?

Fill out this survey, and we'll get back to you asap! FYI — we only like to partner with companies and services that will actually help our readers become 1% better. This is a no BS zone and we will handle accordingly. We take the health and wellness of our community very seriously.

What did you think of this week's Drop?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Looking For Urgent Help?

Here's a list of free resources:

Reply

or to participate.