Drop 008

Welcome to Drop 008 of the 1AND1 newsletter, your weekly dose of 1% Better.Happy Monday 1AND1 Fam! Here's a preview of what we've got today to start off your week ⬇️

  • How to de-stress through realigning with your passions

  • Recommendations for post-workout recovery

  • Tools that will help you save money while shopping online

  • Ideas for your anniversary with that special someone

  • An inspiring story from a reader about how quitting her job changed her life

Shall we? We shall

1 Dose For Your Mind 🧠

Feeling creatively blocked? Reconnect with your passions and de-stress your mind.

Life can be overwhelming, and it's easy to forget about the activities that bring us joy. But making time for creative expression is essential for our mental wellbeing. Not only does it help us relax and escape stress, but it also allows us to explore new passions and stimulate our minds. Here are a few ideas to get started:

Writing: Let your thoughts flow onto paper to ease your mind.

Drawing or painting: Boost your creativity and improve your mood with art.

Coloring: Indulge in a childhood pastime to relieve stress and calm the mind.

Sewing or knitting: Soothe the mind and release serotonin with the rhythmic motion of needlework.

Making music: Relax your mind and reduce stress with the healing power of music.

    💊 How To Take Your Dose:

    Choose one of these creative expressions this week and commit to spending 20-30 minutes completely focused on the activity without any interruptions. Allow yourself to relax and enjoy the process. See how you feel after, and if it brings you joy, continue to make time for it. For more tips on relaxing your mind, read our article Tips on How to Calm Your Racing Thoughts.

    1 Dose For Your Body 💪

    Finding it hard to recover properly after the gym?

    Having trouble recovering properly after hitting the gym? Here are some tips to improve and speed up your recovery time post-workout:

    Hydrate: Proper hydration is essential for muscle repair. Make sure to drink half your body weight in ounces per day to avoid dehydration.

    Get a massage: A massage, especially a sports massage, can reduce your muscle soreness and help release toxins and endorphins. A good massage should help you feel relaxed both mentally and physically. Compression boots as a form of compression therapy can also help.

    Rest: Rest is crucial for muscle growth. Getting enough sleep allows fibroblasts to repair tears in muscle tissue, resulting in faster recovery and growth.

    Refuel: Post-workout protein is crucial to muscle recovery, as it provides essential nutrients to support the healing process. Carbohydrates are also important to regain lost energy.

    Stretch: Stretching before and after workouts is essential to accelerate recovery and increase blood flow.

    Ice baths: Ice baths can reduce inflammation, swelling, and soreness, while improving mental health and immunity. Do not exceed 15 minutes.

    💊 How To Take Your Dose:

    After your next workout, implement the recovery tips you can, such as stretching, drinking plenty of water, and consuming protein or a snack. Consistently following these tips can maximize your recovery and improve your workout routine. Learn more about proper recovery and its benefits here: Active Recovery: How It Can Maximize Your Workout.

    1 Dose For Your Wallet 💵

    Have you ever bought something, only to see the same product cheaper somewhere else?

    Been there...and it definitely stings (lol). We've got you covered, though. Check out these price comparison websites and apps to save some extra cash:

    💊 How To Take Your Dose:

    Next time you're about to make a purchase, try using one of these apps or sites to find the best deal. Make it a habit to compare prices and see how much you can save.

    1 Dose For Your Relationships ❤️

    Is your anniversary approaching?

    Celebrate your love in style! Anniversaries are special, and a great opportunity to commemorate the milestones and experiences you've had with your partner. Here are some anniversary ideas you can try:

    Renew your vows: Declare your love to each other all over again — whether surrounded by friends or by yourselves.

    Plan a road trip: Explore a new destination (and add some scenic pit stops along the way)

    Make a scrapbook of your favorite memories: Include photos, mementos and heartfelt messages

    Enjoy a staycation: Indulge in the luxuries of your own city

    Recreate your first date: Create the butterflies that you felt when it all began

      💊 How To Take Your Dose:

      Feeling lost about what to do for your upcoming anniversary? Try one of these ideas and make the most of your special day with your partner. For additional tips, check out this article ➡️ How To Build Strong Relationships: 10 Practical Tips

      Real Stories From Real People

      How Quitting Opened Up the Door For a New Life for Kathryn

      "I was freshly graduated and looking for my first “big girl” job. Throughout college and grad school, I supported myself by freelance writing. It wasn’t something I planned.

      During my sophomore year of college, I was struggling with generalized anxiety disorder (GAD). Panic attacks, a nervous stomach, near-fainting episodes, and a lot of tears were part of my everyday life. I managed by keeping water with me everywhere I went (a cool drink was a reset button that helped stave off anxiety attacks). I tried these homeopathic lozenges called Calm Drops before stressful situations like driving or class. Despite all my tricks and workarounds, I was constantly exhausted, and I was starting to feel like a burden.

      I was 19 and needed a job, but all the typical options for young adults felt impossible to me—fast-paced coffee shops, an office, stores, restaurants… Plus, I have fibromyalgia, so the demand and stress were going to affect me physically as well (think bedridden days, relentless fatigue, widespread pain, brain fog, and more). Still, I applied everywhere I could, but nothing landed. Then one day, while I was surfing my university’s career network, I came across an article writing job: totally remote, ten articles a week at $10 a pop, and I could write about whatever I wanted. I applied and got it; God was handing me a lifeline. That first job turned into many gigs over the years, but freelancing had its drawbacks. As I got my anxiety under control and finished school, I began to wonder how I was going to meet people and make more money—and then I found my 9-5. It seemed a perfect start: 30 minutes from home, 40k a year with benefits, and I was still writing.

      Between toxic team members, demoralizing feedback on my work, and severely exacerbated fibro, I was miserable. But leaving a full-time job (i.e., security) was not an option. How could I? Plenty of people hated their work, so I was resigned to sticking with it. But, after some wise life-saving words from my parents, I knew what I had to do.

      Walking out of that office for the last time felt like being reborn. I went back to freelancing, and today, I own my own freelancing business where I get to work with hand-picked clients on manuscripts, websites, articles, blogs, and so much more. It’s a dream—and I’m thriving after committing the cardinal sin of capitalism. I learned quitting doesn’t have to be a negative thing. Sometimes, it’s an act of self-love and a launching point to something better."

      Kathryn Ross - Entrepreneur

      ***If you'd like to be featured in our Real Stories From Real People section, fill out this form. You could end up in one of our weekly drops and inspire thousands of readers with your story.

      That's the curtain call for Drop 008! We'll see you on Friday for some "Extra Sauce" 😏🍝 Remember 1 Step At A Time, 1 Day At A Time, 1% Better, Together. ☝️👆

      Was this email forwarded to you? If so, sign up for free here. 

      Share 1AND1 With Friends 🥳

      Wellness is better together. Copy and paste this link to share this newsletter with a friend that would enjoy it. (We know you're probably the friend that's known for recommending the good stuff if you're reading this already. 😉) Shareable Link: https://1and1.beehiiv.com.

      Interested In Advertising on the 1AND1 Newsletter?

      Fill out this survey, and we'll get back to you asap! FYI — we only like to partner with companies and services that will actually help our readers become 1% better. This is a no BS zone and we will handle accordingly. We take the health and wellness of our community very seriously.

      What did you think of this week's Drop?

      Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

      Looking For Urgent Help?

      Here's a list of free resources:

      Reply

      or to participate.