• 1AND1
  • Posts
  • Drop 022: Men's Mental Health Month Is Important: Here's Why

Drop 022: Men's Mental Health Month Is Important: Here's Why

TOGETHER WITH

Today’s Drop is brought to you by Apollo — a wearable that uses proven touch therapy to rebalance your nervous system and support your circadian rhythm. 😎

Happy Monday 1AND1 Fam! Here’s what we’ve got for you in Drop 022 ⬇️

  • The importance of men’s mental health

  • The significance of maintaining good posture

  • Ways to save on utilities

  • How to successfully navigate financial discussions with your partner

  • Jontrell Rocquemore’s story on how his breakdowns led to a breakthrough

Opening Up About Men's Mental Health

June is Men’s Mental Health Month. 1AND1 and our founders are extremely passionate about breaking the men’s mental health stigma and providing valuable tips to our community. Here are a few below:

Acknowledge your feelings: Men are often taught to suppress their emotions, but it's healthy and necessary to acknowledge and express them.

Seek professional help: If you're struggling, remember that it is NOT a sign of weakness to seek help from a mental health professional.

Regular exercise: Physical activity has been proven to reduce symptoms of depression and anxiety.

Maintain social connections: Spending time with loved ones and friends that make you feel good when you’re around them can greatly improve mental health.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

This week, make it a goal to start one new habit that promotes mental well-being. Whether it's setting aside time each day to meditate, or committing to a weekly catch-up with a friend, make it specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, and time-bound. Small, incremental actions = big results.

The Power of Posture: Align Your Body for Optimal Health

Our posture plays a vital role in our overall health. This section will provide practical tips to maintain optimal posture and improve your well-being.

Stay active: Regular movement, especially your basic compound lifts, can strengthen the muscles that support good posture.

Mind your ergonomics: Make sure your work setup is promoting, not hindering, good posture.

Practice mindfulness: Be conscious of your posture throughout the day. Notice when you’re bending your neck for long periods of time to look at your phone, or when you slouch your shoulders while walking. Learn to immediately course correct.

Regular breaks: Standing up and stretching every 30 minutes can help maintain good posture, especially if you’re at a desk all day.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

Our daily posture practices can have a significant impact on our health. This week, strive to improve one aspect of your posture - whether it's being mindful of your sitting position or taking frequent breaks during work to stretch and move.

TOGETHER WITH APOLLO

Developed by experts, the Apollo wearable uses touch therapy with soothing vibrations to calm your nerves, melt away stress, and promote better sleep, relaxation, and focus. Tested by thousands, users experience 40% less stress, increased focus by up to 25%, and an additional 30 minutes of sleep per night!

The Apollo team has hooked us up with a special offer, specifically for 1AND1 Readers. Get $40 off of your Apollo wearable today by clicking here!

(To Our Readers: We're deeply grateful for your ongoing support. By engaging with our chosen sponsors, you allow us to continue delivering valuable, free content, and support our dedicated team. Our sponsors are selected with great care - and we will only partner with those whose values align with ours and what we truly believe in. Thank you for your trust and for being part of our community. We remain committed to serving you with integrity and authenticity.)

Streamline Your Expenses: Smart Savings on Utilities

Keeping an eye on utility bills can result in significant savings. This section will provide some tips to save money on your utilities without compromising your lifestyle.

Energy-efficient appliances: They may be a bit more expensive upfront, but the savings over time are significant.

Unplug: Even when not in use, appliances can consume "phantom energy." Make sure to unplug.

Use natural light: During the day, make use of natural light instead of turning on lights.

Regulate thermostat: Adjusting your thermostat by a few degrees can result in substantial savings.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

Every penny counts when it comes to saving money. This week, choose one utility-saving tip from above and incorporate it into your routine to ensure you stay on track with your new money-saving habit.

Fostering Financial Harmony in Your Relationship

Money talks can be tough, but they're necessary for a healthy relationship. This section provides some guidelines on how to navigate these potentially sensitive discussions with your partner.

Open communication: It's important to discuss financial matters honestly and openly.

Set common goals: Aligning your financial goals can help you work together towards a shared future.

Respect differences: Everyone has different habits and attitudes towards money, and that's okay.

Seek professional help: A financial advisor can provide impartial advice and guide these discussions.

💊 How To Take Your Dose:

Financial harmony can strengthen your relationship. This week, initiate a financial discussion with your partner. Schedule a monthly 'money date' to review finances and help maintain open and consistent communication.

Jontrell Rocquemore Shares How His Breakdowns Led Him to His Most Important Breakthroughs

“Growing up in Chicago, football was my salvation, a way to prove my worth amidst a challenging environment. My father played for the Cleveland Browns and my brothers and I followed suit. It was how we connected, how we found our footing in a world that often seemed stacked against us. When my family relocated to Dallas, Texas, we sought a more stable environment, but football remained our constant.

In high school, my skills earned me a scholarship to Utah State, a shift in my life that promised deep-rooted, transformational lessons. Little did I know, three years into my college career, a fractured tibia would become my first bitter taste of isolation and my first real challenge outside the realm of football. During my recovery, I battled depression, anxiety, and a daunting question: If I'm not a football player, who am I?

Meditation became my refuge, and in that stillness, I began to see my identity wasn't solely rooted in sports. I returned to football the following year, but the magic seemed lost. I wasn't playing like I used to, and I found myself in another battle, this time with expectations. Academically, I pursued Political Science and Sociology, but an unexpected mentorship with a local judge and a chance to work on a program for student-athletes in Utah gave me a new direction.

Despite these positive strides, the football side of my life remained uncertain. In 2019, after an unsuccessful tryout with the Browns, I found myself questioning, “This wasn’t a part of the plan. What’s going to happen next?” These doubts were only amplified by the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, which caused a cancellation of my contract with the Canadian Football League (CFL) and brought my work for the university to a halt.

In the midst of this turmoil, I found solace in writing. Articulating my goals helped me navigate through my feelings of failure and rejection, giving me a plan of attack and a sense of direction. It was during this period that I began to accept the idea of life beyond football. I realized I was ever-changing and that I had the freedom to expand beyond the boundaries of the sports field.

In 2022, I began to carve my own path. A software development gig led me back to Utah State, where I reconnected with the President of the university. This reconnection sparked my interest in a newly formed institute dedicated to mental health and wellness. Despite my initial hesitations, I became a certified licensed practitioner for the institute, conducting presentations and one-on-ones with individuals and athletes worldwide.

In 2023, I took on a new role as a Sr. Business Consultant, continuing the work of the institute and spreading our model to help individuals cope with stress and depression. Looking back, I can't help but feel immense gratitude for my journey. From a struggling athlete to a person helping others navigate through their hardships, I've come full circle. Now, I see that every moment, every hardship, has given me the power to find myself and to be creative. I no longer question my worth; instead, I recognize my resilience and my ability to continually rebuild as I navigate through life.”

Jontrell Rocquemore, Wellness Instructor + Mental Performance Coach

***If you'd like to be featured in our Real Stories From Real People section, fill out this form. You could end up in one of our weekly drops and inspire thousands of readers with your story.

That's a wrap for Drop 022! We'll see you on Friday for some "Extra Sauce" 😏🍝 Remember 1 Step At A Time, 1 Day At A Time, 1% Better, Together. ☝️👆

Was this email forwarded to you? If so, sign up for free here. 

Try the 1AND1 App For Free 📲

Building good habits is the key to life, and our app makes it easy with cutting-edge habit-tracking technology, personalized goal-setting, and expert-driven content. Our holistic approach covers all aspects of well-being, including emotional, spiritual, intellectual, social, financial, physical, and environmental health. With 1AND1, you can commit to one habit at a time and be 1% better each day, propelling yourself forward toward success in your personal wellness journey. Download the app for free today, and join the 300+ satisfied users who are already transforming their mental health and wellness through the power of habit-building. If you love it, let us know, or leave a review in the App Store. We made this for you, and we'd love to hear from you.

Interested In Advertising on the 1AND1 Newsletter?

Fill out this survey, and we'll get back to you asap! FYI — we only like to partner with companies and services that will actually help our readers become 1% better. This is a no BS zone and we will handle accordingly. We take the health and wellness of our community very seriously.

What did you think of this week's Drop?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Looking For Urgent Help?

Here's a list of free resources:

Reply

or to participate.